Skip all navigation and jump to content Jump to site navigation
NASA Logo - Goddard Space Flight Center

+ NASA Homepage

    
Goddard Space Flight Center
About MODIS News Data /images2 Science Team Science Team Science Team

   + Home
ABOUT MODIS
 

April 23, 2014

April 22, 2014

April 21, 2014

April 20, 2014

April 19, 2014

April 18, 2014

April 17, 2014

 

 

October 12, 2013 - Typhoon Danas (23W) off Japan
Typhoon Danas (23W) off Japan Image used for Spacing Purposes
Satellite: Terra
Date Acquired: 10/7/2013
Resolutions: 1km (1 MB)
500m (3.4 MB)
250m (8 MB)
Bands Used: 1,4,3
Credit: Jeff Schmaltz
MODIS Land Rapid Response Team,
NASA GSFC

Fast-moving Typhoon Danas reached Category 4 status on October 7, 2013, as it approached the island of Okinawa, Japan. Peak one-minute maximum sustained winds were reported at 145 mph (233 km/h) at approximately 06:00 UTC (3:00 p.m. Japan Standard Time) that same day.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Terra satellite flew over the strong storm at 0200 UTC (11:00 a.m. JST), just before it reached maximum intensity. At that time Danas sported a large, cloud-filled eye and storm bands stretched across the Ryukyu Island chain, with winds of approximately 140 mph (225 km/h) near the center.

As the storm moved into cooler waters, it quickly began to weaken, clipping the tip of Okinawa at Category 2 strength. By early on October 8, the eye of Typhoon Danas was located over the South China Sea with maximum sustained winds near the center of 115 mph (185 km/h), with tropical storm force winds extending 165 miles from the center.

Although Danas was a strong storm and a major rain-maker, it moved very quickly across the region and weakened so quickly that damage was relatively minimal.

FirstGov logo Privacy Policy and Important Notices NASA logo

Curator: Brandon Maccherone
NASA Official: Shannell Frazier

NASA Home Page Goddard Space Flight Center Home Page