September 28, 2013 - Typhoon Pabuk (19W) off Japan

Typhoon Pabuk (19W) off Japan

Typhoon Pabuk weakened on September 26, 2013 as the core of the storm was changing from a warm core tropical system to a cold core low pressure system as it continued paralleling the coast of Japan. The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) flying aboard NASAís Aqua satellite captured a true-color image of the waning storm skirting eastern Japan at 03:55 UTC (11:55 p.m. EDT) that same day. A steady influx of cold air stratocumulus clouds into the low-level center of Pabuk was helping weaken the storm. The stormís low-level center became elongated and more ragged throughout the day, and the Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) noted that the entire tropical cyclone appeared more asymmetrical and fragmented.

On September 26 at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT), Extra-tropical storm Pabuk had maximum sustained winds near 69 mph (111 km/h). The center of Pabuk was located near 34.9 north and 146.7 east, or about 441 nm south-southeast of Misawa, Japan. Pabuk continued to track to the northeast and had sped up to 28.7 mph/ (46.3 km/h).

By the end of the day, Pabuk transformed into part of a baroclinic cold air mass and was rapidly transforming into an extra-tropical cyclone, well on its way to becoming a cold core low pressure system over the open waters of the Northwestern Pacific Ocean, and the Joint Typhoon Warning Center issued its final advisory on the storm.

Image Facts
Satellite: Aqua
Date Acquired: 9/26/2013
Resolutions: 1km ( B), 500m ( B), 250m ( B)
Bands Used: 1,4,3
Image Credit: Jeff Schmaltz, MODIS Land Rapid Response Team, NASA GSFC