Skip all navigation and jump to content Jump to site navigation
NASA Logo - Goddard Space Flight Center

+ NASA Homepage

    
Goddard Space Flight Center
About MODIS News Data /images2 Science Team Science Team Science Team

   + Home
ABOUT MODIS
 

April 24, 2014

April 23, 2014

April 22, 2014

April 21, 2014

April 20, 2014

April 19, 2014

April 18, 2014

 

 

October 14, 2012 - Tropical Storm Patty (16L) in the Atlantic Ocean
Tropical Storm Patty (16L) in the Atlantic Ocean Image used for Spacing Purposes
Satellite: Terra
Date Acquired: 10/11/2012
Resolutions: 1km (720.4 KB)
500m (2.3 MB)
250m (5.3 MB)
Bands Used: 1,4,3
Credit: Jeff Schmaltz
MODIS Land Rapid Response Team,
NASA GSFC

On October 11 at 11: 00 a.m. EDT the National Hurricane Center (NHC) announced the formation of tropical depression sixteen (TD16) northeast of the Bahamas. Just fifteen minutes later, at 1515 UTC (11:15 a.m. EDT) the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) aboard NASA’s Terra satellite passed overhead and captured this true-color image of the intensifying depression, which would be dubbed Tropical Storm Patty before the end of the day. Although an eye cannot be seen, strong storms around the center of the system cast visible shadows on lower clouds. This indicates the storm is generating a large mass of deep convection.

On Friday morning, Oct. 12, Patty was drifting at 3 mph (6 km/h) south-southwestward near the Bahamas and was already weakening. Tropical Storm Patty had maximum sustained winds near 40 mph (65 km/h), and the center was located near 25.1 N lat and 72.5 W long, or about 230 miles (375 km) east-northeast of the central Bahamas. At 2100 UTC (5:00 p.m. EDT) the NHC downgraded Patty to tropical depression status. It had hung onto tropical storm status for only about 24 hours.

The final advisory on Patty was issued by the NHC at 1500 UTC (11:00 a.m. EDT) on October 20. At that time, the storm had lost all characteristics of a tropical cyclone. At that time the remnants of Patty were located near 24.8 N lat, 72.6 W long, and was moving west-southwest slowly. Maximum sustained winds were near 30 mph (45 km/h). The storm dissipated completely later that same day.

FirstGov logo Privacy Policy and Important Notices NASA logo

Curator: Brandon Maccherone
NASA Official: Shannell Frazier

NASA Home Page Goddard Space Flight Center Home Page